top of page
Search
sarahannebloomfiel

My creative media journey

Updated: Jun 10, 2022

My creative media journey is so different to many others. I've heard people tell me that they knew at a young age that they wanted to make movies or write scripts. They had already immersed themselves into film and tv jobs, short films, or have written scripts among scripts. This was crazy to me.


Honestly, I knew that I was always a creative person but I had no idea I even wanted to do creative media production until a couple months before the course started when I was exploring my options. My best friend in the whole world said to me "Hey i'm moving to Wellington to study, wanna come?" and I said "F**k it, i'll come." Then I had to decide what I wanted to study. Of course I knew that I could just move down and work but studying was something that I had always wanted to do. I researched my options. Every pathway I looked into led me back to creative media production. I was so interested and wanted to learn more.


Growing up I had a lot of creative and expressive things. I was heavy into my art (although not very good). I would draw and paint to my hearts content. I had a steady hand but that part of my life never developed into what it could have been. I did a lot of dance. Once again, I wasn't the best but it was a way to express the creative side of me and made me feel significantly fulfilled. Dance was something outside of school that I could enjoy because lord knows I was not enjoying school. Just like everything else in my life, dance fizzled out. I'm now left with a little bit of muscle memory and zero flexibility. Then I went into theatre, drama was another way that I could express what I needed to. At school I excelled in drama and really put my all in to class and extra curricular. I did a fair amount of musical theatre as well although never confident enough to audition for the main roles, I thought I had found my place and my people but, just like every thing else, my musical stage fizzled out. I still write to this day but everything else is a myth.


I felt like there were so many loose ends so I decided to take a gap year after high school . I thought this gap year would show me what I really needed to do in life but honestly it pointed me in no direction. It was a good break but after a few months of freedom my friends reminded me I can't do that forever.


That brings me back to signing up for my current course of study. It was an easy decision when I read about it and I am so thankful for this opportunity to immerse my self in this creative world.


Remember,

Not everyone knows what they want to do straight off the bat, give yourself time to explore.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Gen Z

One of the big reasons I got into film is because of the recently ridiculous betrayal of Generation Z. I, myself am a part of Gen Z and I...

MOVIES THAT BORE ME

Title seems a little conceded, yeah? Well let me explain. Movies were a special treat for me growing up. It would be a friday circa 2014,...

Comments


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page