top of page
Search
sarahannebloomfiel

Gen Z

One of the big reasons I got into film is because of the recently ridiculous betrayal of Generation Z. I, myself am a part of Gen Z and I have not once seen an accurate portrayal of our generation. Movies and TV shows trying to portray this are CRINGE. It is quite honestly ridiculous and I want and feel the need to change this.


An example of this is Ginny and Georgia, a recent Netflix show that follows the teenage life of main character Ginny and her mother Georgia. The way that they show the use of social media and mobile phones is incredibly out of touch. The emojis, the text talk it is all very cringe and childlike. That is not how teenagers these days use social ,media which makes it that much more unrelatable.


These things could be portrayed so well if done by someone who has lived their teenage years on a device.


The color grading of these new shows and films also seems way off. they are super vibrant and unrealistic. This needs to be fixed as well. Just because we have the technology to make it look this way does not mean that is what we should be doing. It is too much.


I really want to know what you all think of these thoughts, there must be a significant amount of people who agree that these portrayals are out of touch.


I understand how these color schemes and scenarios could be interesting to older and much younger viewers who have not spent this significant amount of time online. But you need to cater to all audiences.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

MOVIES THAT BORE ME

Title seems a little conceded, yeah? Well let me explain. Movies were a special treat for me growing up. It would be a friday circa 2014,...

My creative media journey

My creative media journey is so different to many others. I've heard people tell me that they knew at a young age that they wanted to...

留言


Post: Blog2 Post
bottom of page